top of page

Needing to sell your album

I grew up in Oakland California and I remember listening to Too Short and hearing about how he sold his tapes out the trunk. Not only was he an artist, but he was a real hustler. He worked hard for what he had. Nothing was given to him and there were no excuses. Today I find myself in 2016 pushing my album out the trunk, however I am doing it in times where the physical CD is losing it's value.

I know my music is great and it has value and it is heartfelt, however unless you're doing shows every night and are known throughout your city, selling albums is a challenge. Yes they have online, however there is nothing like going person to person introducing yourself and selling them your album. The challenge is to overcome the objections and to ignore the nos.

I love what I do, but for me my album is literally what I eat off. It is the difference between having a roof over my head or being hungry the next day. You see my music is a huge part of me. If I don't work I don't eat, it is really that simple.The challenge is to motivate yourself into pushing out the albums out the trunk as if there was no tomorrow. I admit I'm human and no one wants to get rejected, but if you're determined and you "need it" then the end justifies the means.

bottom of page